Sewing : A personal history

Sewing is my sanctuary. It’s my place to dive into, to not think about work and to free my creativity from it’s everyday suppressive box.

My Mum taught me to sew when i was younger. She had a small Singer sewing machine (which I think she still has) that had a wheeled handle at the side which allowed the machine to move at your own speed. This was great at getting used to feeding the material through and getting to understand how the whole sewing-thing worked.

She then moved me onto another attendant propelled machine but this time was one that was operated by a foot lever. The lever was then attached by a shoestring of leather to the machine. This still allowed me to keep my own pace, but got me used to operating a machine with my feet!

Years passed, I grew up and sewing became a childhood memory. Mum passed onto me her old electric Singer sewing machine when she was moving house as she preferred the treadle machine. 

It sat in the loft for a while until about 6 months ago. 

I was seeing more and more things that I thought “I could make that” or was finding myself trying to work out the pattern/workings of the item.

I saw lots of tote bags becoming popular – good old 5p bag charge! I decided that this would be my first make! 

I then decided that since I can do that, I could make the dog a new bed! 

But that is for another post! 

Goodnight wordpressers!

Albert’s Girl x

Leave a Reply

